135Journals Art Corner, 13 Days of Christmas #8

24 Dec

 

This year, I went all-out on one Christmas present. It was a gift for my mother. I took an old hardcover book and decorated every single page. Most of the pages I just drew on with markers, like the page below. Some I made collages on, or painted with watercolors. What inspired me to this madness?

I was reading in my old journals about how my mom had told me that when  I was a baby of one, I used to ferret out pens whenever her back was turned, and draw pictures everywhere. The walls. My sheets. In books. I was completely compulsive. She said that I was a very good baby artist.

Later, I lost my confidence with art. And when I took up writing seriously, I just felt as if I couldn’t do both. But in the past few years, art has been a solace and an obsession. Also, my poor mom put up with a lot, having a one-year-old madbaby with a pen. I thought she should at least have something amusing to compensate her for the hours of describbling every surface I must have covered with ink!

So, Merry Christmas, Mom!

Merry Christmas Madness #8, from Altered Book for Mom, by Alexandra Hanson-Harding

Merry Christmas Madness #8, from Altered Book for Mom, by Alexandra Hanson-Harding

Leave a Reply

