135journals Art Corner: Using Elmer’s Glue as a Resist

20 Jan
lack Labyrinth. Watercolor and elmer's glue. By Alexandra Hanson-Harding

Black Labyrinth. Watercolor and elmer’s glue. By Alexandra Hanson-Harding

As I slowly acquire my art education via the University of Pinterest, I have become more and more acquainted with the idea of “resists.” Those are different materials or items that stand in the way of paint or dye or whatever being laid down on the surface of the paper. Resists can include wax (including crayons), and in this case, I thought I’d try out Elmer’s glue. I lay down a thick line of glue in a rectangular pattern moving outward. I let it dry for a day. And then I painted over it. It really worked! I like the spooky way the black looks against the thick line. I think I also dabbed some of the paint off the white line of Elmer’s with a cloth (by then it had a nice plasticky consistency) to emphasize the difference–but not off all of it. It was a fun technique and I would definitely try it again. The only trick is waiting long enough to let the glue dry!

Writing Prompt: How can “resisting” help you improve the quality of your life?

2 Responses to “135journals Art Corner: Using Elmer’s Glue as a Resist”

  1. Kathy Wilmore January 21, 2015 at 4:16 am #

    Nice work, AHH!

    >

Leave a Reply

