Utterly Mad Would-Be Artist Shares Five Paintings Done Today With Cheapo Five Buck Art Kit

2 Dec

Friends, I have not written much because I have fallen down the magical art hole where colors and patterns suck me in and make my hands hungry to see what I can do to release them onto paper. Today I was doing various experiments with watercolors, pastels, crayons, and colored pencils from a cheap art set I have lying around. Some of these are going to be worked on more, with marker or more paint or who knows what. But here are just a few of the things I was making today:

1.

Ethiopian style heads

This style of faces in this painting are modeled on some beautiful Ethiopian art I saw in a book.

Flowers and olives

This painting looks like flowers and olives to me. I think I’ll decorate it further. . .

Red, Black and white boxes. I

Red, Black and white boxes. I wanted to try being more monochromatic.

Black and white painting with eyes

This black and white painting is a work in progress with some symbols that have meaning to me, especially the eyes, which are also modeled on Ethiopian art.

What will become of these blue, pink, purple triangles?

What will become of these blue, pink, purple triangles?

Writing Prompt: What’s inspiring you lately?

Leave a Reply

