Image

135journals Art Corner: Painted clothespins

3 May

135journals Art Corner: Painted clothespins

When a girl really needs to do some boring paperwork, there is nothing that seems as urgent as a creative arts project. To create this craft, I bought plain wooden clothespins because I wanted to make my own kind of prayer flag with my own pieces of cloth that I have decorated with fabric paint and I don’t know how to sew. I thought it would be fun to paint them. So, basically, this is how I did it:
1. Painted the clothespins white (with tempera paint), inside and out, on both sides.
2. Started painting rough designs in one color after they dried (also tempera paint). As you can see, there are stripes, squiggles, boxes, and dots, among other things.Then I filled them in with other colors.
3. Got very obsessive and kept painting them for a long time, while humming to myself.
4. Very PAINFULLY finished my work.
5. Took the clothespins outside, put newspaper over them, and lightly spray-misted them with liquid polyurethane for a long time so they’d be nice and shiny.
Oh, one thing that was handy was that the way the clothespins were packaged, they were all neatly clipped onto a card. So that made it easy, too. I like the way they turned out and I can imagine a lot of other uses for them, too–clipping papers together, organizing various other kinds of items of clothing, doing something strange and boho-ish with your hair or scarf, or making a frame around a round mirror (saw that one . . . somewhere, only with decoupaged clothespins . . . was that you, Martha Stewart??).

Writing Prompt: What would you like to create today?

Leave a Reply

