How to Journal #21: What’s Your Cup of Tea?

8 Aug
journal picture: tea cup

From an old journal of mine: Some prefer a proper cup and saucer.

I remember one day when I was making a cup of tea for my friend Karen and she said, “Oh no I can’t drink out of that cup. I never drink out of cups with logos.” I laughed. I found it quite enchanting that although she is one of the calmest, accepting, and patient people I know, the idea of a cup with a logo on it just bugged her. But then again, I noticed that different people like drinking their morning coffee or tea out of all kinds of different containers–some like chunky mugs, some like tiny ones, others are Venti all the way, paper, styrofoam . . . and that’s just cups. I like large, smooth cups with white insides (so I can see the color of my tea). And then I (sometimes–guilty truth)  fool around on line reading random articles about weird science facts, medicine, news, and of course, wardrobe malfunctions. Then I open my journal and begin to write.

Writing prompts section: #21:  if you’re like most people, there is something unique about what kind of tea or coffee cup you prefer. What is your favorite kind of cup and why? Why not draw a picture or take a picture to add to your journal?

3 Responses to “How to Journal #21: What’s Your Cup of Tea?”

  1. Julie Goldberg August 8, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    My favorite cup is a mug I made at one of those paint-your-own-pottery places I had taken the kids to on a rainy day, long ago. The outside has blue and purple stripes, and the inside is painted green. I painted my initials on the bottom.
    I KNOW THAT SOME DAY THIS CUP WILL BREAK. All things break, in time, particularly in a house with children, particularly my children, particularly. That’s why I flinch when someone else touches or uses the cup. I don’t mind someone else drinking out of it. But if someone’s going to break it, I want it to be ME. I don’t want to be angry at anyone but myself when it breaks.
    Of course, I could just go to another one of those paint-you-own-pottery places and make a new favorite mug. I suppose.

  2. Alexandra Hanson-Harding August 8, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    I love this!!

  3. fransiweinstein August 12, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I am a Starbucks fan. But even when I am staying in to enjoy my coffee I have to have it in the paper cup. To me it isn’t the same in a cup or mug. Yet there are two other cafes I also go to where I only drink the coffee from cups or mugs or glasses, when it’s iced. I never thought about it before. It’s weird.

Leave a Reply

