July is Journaling Month #12: Mind Mapping

20 Jul

 

Image

Mind mapping is one way to let your right brain harvest some of its richness as your left brain is busy with an important organzing task. I enclose this rather crappily photographed photograph of how I put together my ideas for the essay I wrote about the book “Farewell Fred Voodoo” for the Magnificentnose.wordpress.com blog. (At least I cropped out my toes, which you could see on the original as I stood on the table above it taking the picture.) I have given journaling workshops where I’ve had people make mind maps for five minutes around a simple word, sometimes my choice, sometimes theirs. I’ll give you five suggestions, and then, on a blank piece of paper, write the word in the center, and let the ideas burst from them. After that, you can write something that contains something of that imagery. I will never forget a poem that a former student wrote, Marian Kwartler, a longtime cancer patient, about the color red. It started with the red door of Gilda’s House, the cancer organization, and ended with the red hills of Israel at sunset. It was plainly one of her most enduring memories of happiness and freedom, and reading her poem was like a journey. So: 5 random words, or pick your own!

1. red; 2. house; 3. unfair; 4. winter; 5. fingers

Writing prompt: Make a mind map. Use it to write something else–a memory, a poem, a list.

Leave a Reply

